2020 UNAC/UHCP Scholarship Winners

In 2020, UNAC/UHCP received hundreds of scholarship applications. Each application and essay were given careful consideration. The scholarship program was made possible by member volunteers who helped score applications. UNAC/UHCP members personally reviewed and scored each application three times according to set criteria before winners were determined.

Congratulations to our winners, listed below. Stay tuned for information about the 2021 scholarship program in March 2021.

2020 Kathy J. Sackman Member Scholarship Winners

Kaiser San Diego RN Adam Garrett is attending Utah State University, studying for his MSN focused on Family Nurse Practitioner.

Kaiser Fontana RN Florence Lawton will be completing her Bachelor’s Science in Nursing at Azusa Pacific University.

Kaiser Baldwin Park RN Mary Jo Pulmano is pursuing a Masters of Science in Nursing Clinical Nurse Specialist degree to serve her passion for caring for the adult cardiology population.

Kaiser Riverside RN Melissa Valencia is attending the University of Phoenix to obtain her MSN in Education so she can pursue her goal of becoming a Nursing Instructor.

Kaiser Balwin Park RN Simon Stephen Yao is studying for his MSN at the University of Texas Arlington to become a Family Nurse Practitioner.

2020 Sonia Moseley Family Scholarship Winners

Kaiser Panorama City RN Ana Carrascoza’s son, Johan Carrascoza-Bolanos, will be attending UCLA to obtain a Bachelor’s of Science in Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and apply to Medical school.

Kaiser Downey PT  Hsiangning Chang’s daughter, Tiffany Chang, will be attending Purdue University, studying Animal Sciences to become a future Veterinarian.

Kaiser South Bay RN Mirca De Leon’s daughter, Joelle De Leon, is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in Integrative Biology at UC Berkeley.

Kaiser Sunset RN Angelica Hasson’s daughter, Jayah Hasson, will be attending Northwestern University to study for her Doctorate in Physical Therapy.

Kaiser Fontana RN Christopher Marshall’s daughter, Natalie Marshall, is pursuing a Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies at Western University of Health Sciences.

2020 Delima MacDonald Community Scholarship Winners

Elizabeth Connor will be attending Grossmont Community College to obtain her ADN/RN with further plans to pursue her BSN.

Chelsea Del Rio will be attending the University of the Pacific to become a pharmacist, with an interest in serving underrepresented communities.

Randal Glaser will be taking an extensive course on treating the Lymphatic system to greater serve our patients who have lymphedema, or swelling of the limbs post-mastectomy.

Kate Rael will be attending UCLA, studying for her BSN in hopes of becoming a nurse practitioner.

Christina Seiler is attending Aspen University studying for her BSN.


Special thanks to this year’s Scholarship Review Committee! This program would not be possible without all our wonderful volunteer reviewers.

Socorro Pichay, KFRNA Amy Tucker, KPRNA Melissa Morrison, KFRNA
Jessica Madrigal, KFRNA Michelle Curtis-Ussery, SCNSC Socorro Picahy, KFRNA
Melissa Morrison, KFRNA Sherry Eakins, UTSC Elena Gomez, KWHRNA
Bernard Decena, KSDHCPA Rose Allaine Casado, KFRNA Frances Lalap, KOCPA
Mary Gambino, KSDHCPA Lupe Castro, KFRNA Fang-Chen Jane Hou, KBPRNA
Apinya Wong, UPSC Sandra Chun, UTSC Joy Anne Fumera, KOCPA
Cheryl Chan, UPSC Cynthia Turner, KSDHCPA Patricia Helman, KFRNA
Gail Fong, UPSC Perpetua Presto, KSRNA Amy Tucker, KPRNA
Joy Fumera, KOCPA Nancy Quon, KBPRNA Gail Fong, UPSC
 Sarah Becaro, KOCPA  Lori Robinson, UTSC  Paul Ryan, KBPRNA
 Roxsann Barry, KSRNA  Janthakan Pisutthanakan, KBPRNA  Lupe Castro, KFRNA
 Arvee Ninofranco, UPSC  Sandra Chun, UTSC